Do I Need It: Sparkling Water

“Most people are familiar with S.Pellegrino’s iconic bottle, but not everybody knows its hidden secrets. The beauty of its shape, called “Vichy”, its four labels and its green glass, together with its unmistakable Red Star, are all important emblems connecting the brand to its heritage and values”- Sanpellegrino.com

Here’s something I once totally did: get into a Twitter argument with G. Gordon Liddy about bottled water. I am against it, for reasons both environmental  and moral. G. Gordon Liddy is very much for it and views any suggestion that you should even consider reducing your use of bottled water as an affront to personal freedom, America, etc. I do not think I made much of a case with him but I did leave the conversation quite convinced that G. Gordon Liddy is the craziest. (Which I already thought anyway- I read the dude’s autobiography.)

Anyway. I don’t drink bottled water in plastic, ever, but I do indulge in a glass of San Pellegrino with dinner. It’s Italian. It comes in a glass bottle. It’s only $14 for a case at Costco. A simple treat, right? Maybe not.

One thing I am doing is evaluating some of the things I think of as “needs”- starting with my grocery staples. And San Pellegrino seemed like a good first thing to evaluate, because obviously I don’t need it. But on the other hand, some treats are okay, and I wanted to know if this was a treat I could, in good conscience, continue to indulge in.

Budget-wise, it seems totally fine. $14 every 6 weeks or so is not a huge proportion of our grocery budget. And since it’s in glass, I thought the environmental impact might be live-able, too. Think again, Spector. A bottle of San Pellegrino travels about 6,000 miles to get to Los Angeles (I am not doing the math but figure San Francisco and LA are close enough). And that glass bottle is heavy- weighing more than the water inside- so it takes plenty of fuel to get here.

Not only that, but San Pellegrino is owned by Nestle, which is not a company I want to support in terms of its water business.  So  it’s in the budget, but not environmentally or morally sound. Scratching the Pellegrino was a no-brainer– especially after learning the water in that bottle is carbonated after it is bottled. There go my fantasies of drinking a fancy mineral water straight from some sparkling spring. (I don’t think those are the hidden secrets of San Pellegrino their website refers to.)

So, no luxury beverages for me? We’ll see. I still drink plenty of coffee and iced tea, and during lemon season get to drink plenty of fresh squeezed lemonade (distance traveled to my kitchen: a few dozen feet, maybe?) I think I’ll survive. A soda stream seems tempting but also unnecessary.

What’s your beverage of choice? Also, do you think G. Gordon Liddy has me on some sort of hit list?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy S. on May 28, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    I hate Nestle too! For their infant formula practices though. After embracing minimalism, I made a similar list : One Less Thing (borrowed from Miss Minimalist) and made a list of things I was giving up. Bubbly water is on that list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

