Using Up the CSA Haul: 5/30 Delivery

You know what is a particularly sad California problem to have? Too many avocados. In case you were wondering, six is too many for a family of 4. Life is hard sometimes.

Here was the last week’s box:

  • 1 honeydew melon
  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 1 head leaf lettuce
  • 6 avocados
  • 1 eggplant
  • 6 gypsy peppers
  • new potatoes

The new potatoes were the easiest to use- I made home fries for Sunday’s breakfast-for-dinner. (I added two of the gypsy peppers, diced, along with the onion.) I made a black bean and roast gypsy pepper and avocado salad with the lettuce and one of the avocados, and then put some more of the avocado in sandwiches and on top of eggs on toast and everywhere I could think of.

The melon and strawberries we just ate as snacks, and the pattypan squash were amazing with chickpeas. I could have traded half the avocados for some more of the squash. (I also figured out that you can get perfectly cooked chickpeas with no fuss in the crock pot so I made a huge batch and now have a well-stocked freezer full of garbanzo.)

The last of the gypsy peppers were sliced and put into a cruet with some cider vinegar- pepper vinegar for the summer. (The cruet did involve a trip to HomeGoods which is pretty much the antithesis of this whole blog’s philosophy- a whole store full of crap you don’t need and probably wouldn’t buy if it wasn’t on “sale.” But even I will compromise my integrity for a pretty $3 cruet.)

Gypsy Pepper Vinegar

Gypsy Pepper Vinegar

I made an old favorite, Mark Bittman’s eggplant and scallions with miso rice with the eggplant. And, um, I still have some leftover avocado in the fridge. I think I will make this hummus.

Too much avocado is totally an annoying California-CSA problem, right? What produce have you gotten too much of lately?

Leave a Reply

