Monthly Challenge June 2013- Let’s Not Dine Out

So, I just crunched the numbers and we reduced our restaurant consumption by 70% in June, when compared to May. That is pretty astonishing (and way better than my goal of just staying under budget).

To be fair, like I said earlier, this was a bit of a cheat as there was some travel involved where the meals weren’t paid for by us. And Grammy came to visit, so she took the boys out for more treats than they otherwise would have gotten. But I also went to Jeni’s four times last month (a conference across from their new Easton Center, I could not resist) and the boys and Jeff got their weekend treats in, too. Looking back on June, I certainly don’t feel deprived. (I’ll have to ask Jeff how he felt about his packed lunches. I think he enjoyed them some as he has been taking more and more to work.)

Looking ahead, Jeff and I are headed out to eat tomorrow night for our anniversary- and we can do so guilt free knowing what the rest of the month will look like- a lot like June. Now that I know we don’t miss it, there’s no reason to let our restaurant overspending creep back in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

